Mary Roberts Rinehart Non-Fiction Award English

To help aspiring authors, the family of the late Mary Roberts Rinehart began a number of years ago awarding small grants to writers whose work showed particular promise. These grants were given to honor Ms. Rinehart, a writer of fiction and nonfiction whose work was popular in the earlier decades of the 1900s. In 1983, the Rinehart family established The Mary Roberts Rinehart Fund at George Mason University to finance annual grants to promising writers. Currently, three grants are awarded in spring for the best nominated manuscript in fiction, in nonfiction, and in poetry.

2021 Awardees

Lena Crown

Lena Crown

2020 Awardees

Lena Crown

2018 Awardees

Kyle François

Darcy Gagnon

Lisa Macedo

Whitney Olsen

2017 Awardees

Sarah Bates

Katie Branca

Suzy Rigdon

2016 Awardees

Robert Maakestad

2015 Awardees

Julia Douglas

Kerry Folan

Rajpreet Heir

Jessie Szalay

2014 Awardees

Eric Botts

Alexandra Ghaly

2013 Awardees

Stephanie Liberatore

Stephanie Liberatore

2011 Awardees

Jennifer Brown

Lindsay Fiesthumel

Kate O'Leary

2010 Awardees

Jessica McCaughey