Mary Roberts Rinehart Poetry Award English

To help aspiring authors, the family of the late Mary Roberts Rinehart began a number of years ago awarding small grants to writers whose work showed particular promise. These grants were given to honor Ms. Rinehart, a writer of fiction and nonfiction whose work was popular in the earlier decades of the 1900s. In 1983, the Rinehart family established The Mary Roberts Rinehart Fund at George Mason University to finance annual grants to promising writers. Currently, three grants are awarded in spring for the best nominated manuscript in fiction, in nonfiction, and in poetry.

2021 Awardees

Ian Cappelli

Ian Cappelli

2020 Awardees

Katie Richards

2018 Awardees

Jordan Keller-Martinez

Alexandria Petrassi

E. Rhodes Thompson

Lloyd Wallace

2017 Awardees

Ben Rader

Madeleine Wattenberg

2016 Awardees

Jessica Capobianco

Melanie Tague

Q Wang

Susan Woodruff

Carina Yun

2015 Awardees

Ben Brezner

2014 Awardees

Anya Creightney

Julia Douglas

A. Moriah Jones

Darby Price

2013 Awardees

Catee Baugh

Kate Partridge

2011 Awardees

Irene Buckley

R.J. Hooker

Jack Snyder

Susan Whalen

Chrissy Widmayer

2010 Awardees

Jennifer Daniels

Ranjani Murali

Jack Snyder