Shelley A. Marshall Fiction Prize English

The Shelley A. Marshall Fiction Prize was established by Donn Marshall, the husband of Shelley Marshall (1963-2001), a GMU alumna who was killed in the September 11, 2001, attack on the Pentagon. She was an avid reader of short stories and also wrote them. For Shelley, Donn says, “writing short stories was about the journey, not the destination; writing was about making your life extraordinary.” The prize is given by The Shelley Marshall Foundation for a single short story of 20 doubled-spaced pages or less.

2021 Awardees

Asa Sutton

Asa Sutton

2020 Awardees

Melissa Wade

2018 Awardees

Sam Ashworth

Meg Sipos

2017 Awardees

Joey Kuhn

2016 Awardees

Sarah Bates

2015 Awardees

Ah-ruem Han

2014 Awardees

Monica Boothe

Ah-reum Han

Alex Henderson

Brittany Kerfoot

2013 Awardees

Lindsey Johnson

Erin McDaniel

Katrina Smith

2011 Awardees

Timothy Erwin

2010 Awardees

Kirsten Clodfelter

Stephen Loiaconi