Mary Roberts Rinehart Fiction Award English

To help aspiring authors, the family of the late Mary Roberts Rinehart began a number of years ago awarding small grants to writers whose work showed particular promise. These grants were given to honor Ms. Rinehart, a writer of fiction and nonfiction whose work was popular in the earlier decades of the 1900s. In 1983, the Rinehart family established The Mary Roberts Rinehart Fund at George Mason University to finance annual grants to promising writers. Currently, three grants are awarded in spring for the best nominated manuscript in fiction, in nonfiction, and in poetry.

2021 Awardees

Elizabeth Duesterhoeft

Elizabeth Duesterhoeft

2018 Awardees

Sarah Wheeler

2017 Awardees

Michelle Orabona

Ben Rader

Sarah Wheeler

2016 Awardees

Sam Ashworth

2014 Awardees

Alex Henderson

Benjamin Page

2013 Awardees

Jay Ivey

Katrina Smith

2011 Awardees

Teresa Allen

Timothy Erwin

Lindsey Johnson

2010 Awardees

Priyanka Champaneri

Nicole Lee

Timothy Rowe