James L. Jackson Award English

The James L. Jackson Prize honors James L. Jackson, a Shakespeare scholar and former chair of the George Mason University English department.  Professor Jackson was a generous and devoted teacher of undergraduates.  Accordingly, the award provides funds to support the education at George Mason of a continuing undergraduate major in English of exceptional merit.  The prize is generously sponsored by the same anonymous donor--a former George Mason English Department student--who also sponsors the Karlson, Molin and Walls prizes.

2021 Awardees

Cara Van Ryn

Cara Van Ryn

2020 Awardees

Sawyer Kressin

2019 Awardees

Kelly Foster

2017 Awardees

Aryelle M. Young


2016 Awardees

Zella Christensen

2014 Awardees

Liana Glew

2013 Awardees

Abigail Cummins

2012 Awardees

Kyleigh Purks

2011 Awardees

Daynee Rosales

2010 Awardees

Sarah Hickling

2009 Awardees

Shannon Pennell